jump to navigation

Welcome to Jeli, on the other side of the mountain November 7, 2006

Posted by asianpixmen in Malaysia, Places.
trackback

bridge3.jpg

When I arrived at this town, I asked a stranger “where’s Jeli town?” Without even raising his eyebrows, he told me: “This is it!”

Needless to say, I was shocked. This one-road town is Jeli? Yes, it was. Really small and it doesn’t look that backward. Jeli is stuck between somewhere and nowhere. A learning experience for me.

Comments»

1. kittykat - November 9, 2006

Hi, I’m from Penang, but I drive by Jeli when visiting my in-laws in Kelantan. I think the picture you took is the main road, which by-passes the town (almost a village ) centre. There’s a bit more to the town, a row of shop houses, a district hospital, a number of government offices , it being a district administrative centre.
A small town but relatively neat. There must be hundreds of little towns like this in Malaysia. Many people in KL and Penang never come in contact with this side of Malaysian life.

2. asianpixmen - November 10, 2006

Ah, good old Penang. I am coming for a holiday in December. Tell the municipal guys to clean up the drains, and unclog the roads!


Leave a Reply

