jump to navigation

Yesterday’s things are today’s treasures April 26, 2007

Posted by asianpixmen in Activities, Craft, Malaysia, Miscellaneous, Places.
trackback

old1.jpg

old2.jpg

old3.jpg

old4.jpg

Some people like new things. They visit new tourists spots, new shopping malls, play in new golf courses and enter new cineplexes. I am one of those oddballs who prefer old things.

I browse around old towns, old hallways, old institutions and old shophouses. One day, not so long ago, I was wandering in the vicinity of Campbell Street/Cintra Street area in Penang.

I came upon this old shop which looked like it had seen better days. Walking in, I found its walls were adorned with old things. These were the items that were considered new in my grandfather’s time.

Naturally, I was fascinated. It was like being in a time machine going backwards to the days when bullock carts were still common in Penang. I had almost expected to see some pig-tailed coolies along the road.

 The charm of the shop’s interior was unmistakable. I was thrilled and feeling like a man from the future. The flavour of the days of yore was prevalent. The atmosphere in the shop was one of sentimentality, nostalgia and forgotten charm. Somehow I wish there were more shops like this one. It reminds me of my ancestors who came to this land with nothing but the shirts on their backs.

   Because of their toil, blood, sweat and tears, I am where I am today. Their sacrifices in that instant were remembered and appreciated. God rest their souls.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

