jump to navigation

Kuantan – the place you may want to be in Pahang January 10, 2008

Posted by asianpixmen in Malaysia, People, Places.
trackback

kuantan.jpg

First time visitors to Kuantan, Pahang, may be slightly surprised that it is not a sleepy hollow. A friend of mine who spent 10 years working in Kuantan, loved the place to bits.

After a decade of being an unofficial resident, he was recalled to the head office in KL. It broke his heart to leave his beloved adopted hometown. Anyway, his heart healed in time and I visited the place for the first time in my entire life about three years ago.

I was clearly shocked that it was more modern than I had expected. I have a prejudice against towns that I only read about. People say Kuantan is the gateway to the east coast of Malaysia. In a way, they are right. At the time of my visit, I was enroute to Terengganu and Kelantan.

So Kuantan was a pit-stop for me. Actually, I was hungry and had to stop for lunch. As you KL-ites know, anywhere outside KL, the food is considered cheap. Kuantan is not an exception. The origins of Kuantan can be traced back to the 1850s.

Kuantan is linked to Kuala Lumpur via the Karak Highway and the East Coast Highway. If you are not in a hurry, it is a town that may delight you in some unique ways. People say Kuantan has some fine restaurants. I didn’t stay long enough to find out but I did have a good lunch. So that was a good beginning.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

