jump to navigation

Jetty too far on the other side of the island January 31, 2008

Posted by asianpixmen in Malaysia, Places.
trackback

 kg-nelayan2.jpg

This is one jetty that could make you break out in cold sweat. Actually, only the chicken-hearted people feel this way, so you can count me in.

I was having a leisurely walk along Kampung Nelayan in Teluk Kumbar, Penang, when I came upon this half-dilapidated jetty. Obviously, it is no longer in use but after seeing children running happily along the rickety planks, I thought it shouldn’t be such a chore to take that walk “on the wild side”.

Half-way through the jetty, I suddenly realised there was water all around me, and it looked pretty deep to me. That was when the coward side of me surged to the surface. My throat went dry, my eyes had nothing but fear and I seriously thought about my limited future.

But lo and behold, the scenery was so beautiful, I was quickly lulled into a false sense of security and merrily continued on with the 15-minute journey along the jetty. It was a worthwhile trip as I later found out. What is a little fear between adults. Remember this jetty when you find your way to Teluk Kumber the next time.

Comments»

1. Hanie - February 6, 2008

You WILL experience the dry throat moment if you cant swim…I know “I” would. lol.


Leave a Reply

