jump to navigation

Pretty boxes all from the East March 6, 2008

Posted by asianpixmen in Craft, Culture, Malaysia, Places.
trackback

boxes.jpg

For a better part of my young life, I have been fascinated by colourful, bejewelled things, particularly boxes. So when I came across some really nice ones last Deepavali at the Brickfields Diwali Carnival, I was truly bowled over.

The wonderful thing is these little beauties are all affordable. They make great gifts. Girls love them and hopefull proceed to pass some of their affection to yours truly. Just joking!

Anyway, I couldn’t help thinking of all those poor folks back in Mother India toiling day and night making these cute little containers for citizens of the world. And all they get in return is pittance compared to what the middlemen get.

It brings tears to my eyes when my mind dwells on this kind of scenario. So I urge you generous consumers, NEVER to bargain for a lower price for these memorable gifts when you come across them. Those people who struggle to put food on the table for their families have worked long and hard for these charming handicraft objects.

Comments»

1. DZL - March 7, 2008

They certainly are beautiful… Seeing them all displayed like that makes me want to collect them, just to collect them!

2. asianpixmen - March 10, 2008

I have a small collection – for coins!


Leave a Reply

